Skip to content

Northwest HS Wins State, National Chess Championships

August 6, 2013

The Northwest High School chess team (with 41 players, it’s the largest in Maryland), won the 2013 Super National Scholastic Chess Championships in Nashville, Tenn. The Jaguars also recently won the Maryland State Chess Championship. The team is led by captains David Snyder, Nick Jung and Melaap Patel and is coached by RobertYoungblood.

Northwest HS Wins State, National Chess Championships

Nine middle school winners of the Celebrating Diversity through Creative Writing contest were honored at an awards reception and ceremony held in the Academic and Research Building on the Montgomery campus of The Johns Hopkins University. The honorees were selected from 94 entries from 19 middle schools in the categories of poetry, essay and short story. The winning 6th grade students are: Mikaela Dodson-Floyd of A. Mario Loiederman; Amisha Kunvar of Parkland; and Gwendolyn Boe of John Poole. Winning 7th grade students are: Dharma Gonzalez-Ferrette of Earle B. Wood; Chloe Shankley of Gaithersburg, and and Trude Padila of Julius West. Winning 8th grade students are: Jisue Gonzales of Wood; Sam Eticha of Herbert Hoover, and Vasna Khademian of Loiederman. Honorable mentions in the 6th grade are: Claudio Pachano of Robert Frost; Noah Kang of Hoover, and Hannah Suh of Hoover. Honorable mentions for the 7th grade are Nandita Kohli of Westland; Geneva Reese of Loiederman, and Alice Aubert of Thomas W. Pyle. Honorable mentions in 8th grade are: Claude Gomes of Francis Scott Key and Gunleen Deol of Frost. Students read from their works and received a certificate signed by County Executive Isiah Leggett. The students’ works were published in an anthology, copies of which were given to students and were also made available for circulation in their schools’ media centers and the public libraries.

Two MCPS students won awards from the Arts & Humanities Council of Montgomery County. Gahyun ‘Esther’ Kim, a recent graduate of Wootton High School, and the Visual Art Center at Albert Einstein High School has been awarded the 2013 Ida F. Haimovicz Visual Arts Award. Sydney Axelrod, a recent graduate of Richard Montgomery High School, has been awarded the 2013 Fran Abrams Creative Writing Award. The Ida F. Haimovicz Visual Arts Award includes a $3,000 cash award and a solo exhibition at the Betty Mae Kramer Gallery and Music Room (through June 28) in Silver Spring. The Fran Abrams Creative Writing Award includes a $1,000 cash award and reading at the Betty Mae Kramer Gallery and Music Room.

Students and staff at Julius West Middle School raised more than $2,400 for the victims of the Oklahoma tornadoes with a Hats to Heal the Heart of Oklahoma fundraiser. The money will be donated to the Red Cross.

A Montgomery Blair High School team won first place at the 18th Annual Bloomsburg High School Programming Contest, hosted by Bloomsburg University in Pennsylvania. Team members were Avikar Periwal, Alexander Zhang, Megan Chao and Ashutosh Nanda. The competition allowed students to improve their Java programming abilities, develop creative problem-solving techniques and strengthen their communication skills. At the 2013 Philadelphia Classic, a programming contest for high school students sponsored by the University of Pennsylvania, a second Montgomery Blair team took second place. Team members were Ashutosh Nanda, Victoria Tsai, Sam Zbarsky and Alan Du. Fifty-three teams representing 22 high schools from five states participated in this daylong event, which tested the students’ programming skills and problem solving abilities.